Tuesday, Mar 19, 2019

New senators sworn in

New senators sworn in
31 May

A number of new government senators were been sworn into office Thursday morning.

Governor General Dame Sandra Mason administered the oath at Government House at 10.30.

Among those appointed to the Upper Chamber are the new president of the Senate, Sir Richard Cheltenham, Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade Minister Senator Dr. Jerome Walcott, Innovation, Broadcasting and Public Affairs Minister Senator Lucille Moe, and the youngest in the appointees, Senator Damian Sands.

Also included is Senator Dr. Rommel Springer, parliamentary secretary in the Ministry of Education.

The other senators are Rudolph Greenidge, Lisa Cummins, Rudy Grant, Lynette Holder, and Dr. Chrystal Haynes.

Following the swearing in ceremony, Attorney General Dale Marshall explained the absence of proposed Senators Rawdon Adams and Kay McConney.

He says a constitutional amendment has to be made to change the existing law which says that appointed senators must be resident in Barbados for 12 months continuously.

He says the proposed amendment would come after next Tuesday's Throne Speech and first session of Parliament, and that it will adjust the requirement to be based on Barbados citizenship as opposed to the 12-month time frame.

Most Read