Saturday, May 26, 2018

Welches are draughts champions

Welches are draughts champions
18 Aug

Welches summer camp are the winners of the inaugural National Sports Camp draughts tournament.

The tournament ran from August 8th to the 15th and attracted some 16 teams from the four zones.

At the end of it all, Welches from the northern zone took home the title while Mount Tabor from the eastern zone was second and Milton Lynch of the southern zone third.

Speaking at the prize giving ceremony at the Ministry of Youth Sport and Culture, tournament coordinator Mr Hillary Austin said this year's tournament was basically a test trial and moving forward there are bigger goals which they hope to achieve.

Meanwhile principal youth development officer John Hollingsworth said the tournament was created to bring an interest back to draughts.

He also says there are life lessons that can be learnt from the sport.

Latest Articles

Most Read